2392 Babies’ Vintage Layette

28 Feb

My eldest and only sister gave birth to her forth child last year…ouch! She previously produced three baby boys (over 13 years may I add) so Sophie was a wonderful refreshing addition to her clan. This also gave me the chance of turning my talents to baby clothes! Woop woop.  I have never made children’s clothes before, with or without a pattern but had hand sewn clothes for my baby dolls as a child. Nostalgia  called and I ran to my Mac to find the perfect dress for the little lady.

I settled on this lovely vintage simplicity reprint after deciding I wanted to create a timeless dress that could possibly be handed down the family (back to me) if and when the time came to it. I also have two younger cousins who may yet get babied up and need this dress.

I took inspiration from the 50’s obviously but wanted to mix in a contemporary feel by using a modern print fabric. I have a few favorite online fabric retailers, and all the fabrics for this project came from one of the best. FAVOURITE FABRICS is an ebay store that I visit every week to ponder what I want next…..the answer is all of it.

I bought a meter of this lovely babycord cherry fabric and co-ordinated it with the Devon plain cotton in cream. Yum Yum. Cherries and cream…..can you see a repeating theme in my fabric? Maybe I should just call this blog ‘elle makes clothes in various cherry fabrics’  It does also mean I intend to wear my cherry dress at the same time as Sophie. I am one hip aunt! Both these fabrics washed wonderfully and felt soft to the touch. As the pattern calls for lace I shopped around to find one that would suit my needs best. TKSUMM on ebay sells some really lovely lace and trims, of which I bought 5yds DELICATE 12mm WHITE BABY LACE. I have to say how beautifully packaged this lace was when it arrived! Wish I had taken a picture to share it with you. Go buy something and see what I mean!

Pattern Description: Babies’ 1950’s vintage layette sewing pattern dress and bonnet with embroidery.

Pattern Sizing: XS-L. Sophie will be 12 months old in july so I made her a medium.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Exactly like the picture. I did not use the embroidery on the yoke as I do not have a good enough sewing machine or hand skill, but other than that it is simply spot on.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy. All the methods needed to make this dress where brand new to me. I had never gathered, made side pleats, made a yoke, added a collar or used elastic, but I managed all these techniques without a problem because the directions were so clear and helpful.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I loved everything about this dress pattern. Working on a smaller scale, the fact that it is vintage, the way it looked like the picture. Nothing to complain about.

Fabric Used: Baby cord and cotton.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I left off one pocket as I felt two were not needed and as stated before I did not use embroidery.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

2392 Babies’ Vintage Layette

2392 Babies’ Vintage Layette collar with lace

2392 Babies’ Vintage Layette back with red button and button hole detail

2392 Babies’ Vintage Layette pleat and sleeve detail

3 Responses to “2392 Babies’ Vintage Layette”

  1. Lynn December 12, 2013 at 7:26 am #

    Beautiful. Trying to find TKSUMM for the 12mm WHITE BABY LACE but it says shop not found. Did you get the lace for their recently?

    • elationcreations December 12, 2013 at 11:42 am #

      Sadly Lynn I bought this lace about 3 years ago now, and I believe the seller shut up shop because of ebays nasty tactics :( If you live In the uk then John lewis stock very similar lace, or if you want to help out the little guys I’d do a google search. Hope that helps xxx Elle

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. John Lewis simplicity pattern sale!!!!! We are ALL special. « elationcreations - August 19, 2011

    [...] cute cute! After the success of the baby cord dress I made for my niece I really wanted to make another baby outfit, but could not find a retro pattern [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

