New Look / simplicity 6824

28 Feb

I made this dress last summer after searching for a simple pattern to work with. This was only my third attempt at using a pattern- my first being Simplicity 3559, which worked out just fine and Simplicity 3673 which did not. I have lost 3 stone since making these dresses and have dropped from a size 16 (modern pattern) to a size 10 (modern pattern). I was in between losing weight whilst making simplicity 3673, and I believe this contributed to it looking…..rubbish!

I will blog these dresses at a later date, but for now I would like to focus on my favorite make so far. I have already reviewed this dress on   patternreview.com which also has a few other great sew members dresses that you should check out.

Here is my review as it appears at pattern review.

Pattern Description: This is a muti piece pattern with mix and match tops and skirts

Pattern Sizing: size A (8-18) My dress is a size 12

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, no modifications needed.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, but I made mistakes after being used to other manufactures…. need to keep my eyes more open.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love that its so versatile and it has 10 sizes included in the one envelope

Fabric Used: Cotton on the top, with a stretch polyester/cotton/elastine blend on the bottom.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None needed.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will be sewing it again and again- if i have time….so many projects!

Conclusion: This pattern gives an up to date retro look with a 50s/60s cut.

And here it is!

New Look 6824

The top half of the dress fabric is called Pie a la mode by Ami Simms from Lady Button Fabrics. I believe this to be sold out now, which is a real shame as i just love this fun cherry design. Looks good enough to eat.I actually have a range of fabrics from this designer which all have food related patterns on it. I simply have not found a use for the apple pie or sliced bananas fabric as of yet…..ideas here please. The bottom half used a stretch type fabric which sadly did not come with a fiber content, but after being laundered and ironed did it’s job well.

What I loved about this dress pattern is the detail. Bows! I am constantly told off about how many bows I own- on clothes and in my hair. As you can see in this picture i am wearing a lady Gaga esk hair band. Sadly after this dress was made someone with their big feet ‘accidentally’ trod on it. Rubbish. Here is another picture which shows the fabric in finer detail and that wonderful removable sash bow.

I have to admit I use this sash on other dresses and always get complements.

After rushing my last project I decided to do this dress justice and added some special finishing touches, which included adding embroidered bias binding to the internal join of the lined bodice and skirt, and adding a ‘label’ using the selvage from the fabric naming the brand. Things I could have done better would definitely be the zip….i find zips difficult. But as my gran would say, if at first you do not succeed unpick the whole mess and get her to show me how. Wish granny Kelly was still here. I believe she would be proud of me. What do you think?

3 Responses to “New Look / simplicity 6824”

  1. Charlie February 28, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Hey, its so good to see a blog with someone making thier own clothes and actually telling you how easy or hard it is to follow! I am yet to start my pattern but i feel inspired!

    • kathleen neilan March 2, 2011 at 12:00 am #

      Definitely Granny Kelly (sounds Irish?) would be proud of you. Great Dress.

      • elationcreations March 2, 2011 at 12:14 am #

        Granny Kelly was Irish! Thank you for the lovely comment and keep checking back…lots to add and so much to sew!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

