Archive | 12:30 am

A Hand Made Happy Easter

24 Apr

I am glad to say that this Easter I have been extra crafty and made all of the gifts I will be giving to family members tomorrow. My mum, sister and Nan will receive Bunting, which has then been wrapped in brown paper. My niece will be opening a Hand sewn rabbit and my nephews will be getting little baskets filled with hand crafted goodies. Not a chocolate in sight. Woop. Here is how the bunny looked in the magazine:

Happy hopper april 2011 sew magazine pattern

Here is the bunny toy all sewn up.

Happy hopper pattern from sew magazine April 2011 issue 22

Not bad for a first to make. I left the nose and eyes of on purpose as the recipient is likely to pull the eyes off and eat the nose.

Sew magazine includes mini makes with every issue and I thought this one would be great for an Easter present. I used a lovely soft snail fabric By Heather Ross’s far far away collection and two plain cottons. All fabric and notions were bought from Decorative Cloth during my Leamington Spa visit earlier this week. All together it cost me under £5 to make leaving enough supply’s to make another at a later date. The arms on the bunny can be moved up and down thanks to the button hinges. I used coordinating colours so the buttons stood out.

Coordinating buttons on my bunny

The pattern was easy enough but I have never stitched a toy up before so could to a tidier job of whip stitching the parts where you need stuff the stuffing. Here is a closer image of the little snails.

Fabrics used for the bunny

I had a really lovely day with my mum in Leamington Spa. The sun was shining bright and the roads all closed making getting around really easy. I hate almost being run over every five minutes.

Pansies in bloom

Just lovely. Have a great Easter all, and I will be back with the final part of the good, the bad and the WIP.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers