Collette ceylon No. 1009 finished! First new sewing room project.

19 Jul

CEYLON: Shirt dress with inset waist, slightly dropped and curved waistline, and curved neckline yoke. Gathers at the bust provide fullness, while the skirt is gathered at the front and generously flared. Sleeves are short and puffed. Closes with 16 buttons down the center front.

So here we are, after much waiting and ado I have finally made my sewing room and completed my first project. This would be pattern by the fantastic collette! I have never made a pattern by this small but perfectly formed company before but I have to say I am very very impressed. Not only does it come in the cutest little booklet, but the actual pattern instructions were extremely clear and concise, which really helps when your trying to make a lovely item of clothing. One that fits, one that can actually be worn and one that gets comments all the time about how amazing it is. Oh yes, this pattern is the business. I chose to make a muslin, which i very rarely do but after reading two books suggested by stitchywitch that were fast fit and the perfect fit I found out why things i made did not fit me. Mostly because I had no idea what shape or size I was and I was guessing, which only works for other people it seems.

This is the finished dress. I just love it. Yes i do, you. You can tell this by my silly smiling big face. I am smug as a pug called dug. The photo was taken by the lovely Holly who is a fashion/photo person. She will have a website at some point and I will be linking to it. Anyway, lets talk about me and the dress. I used some lovely fabric bought from Favorite Fabrics a while ago that I stashed and intended to use for a different dress, but as you all know things never go as planned and this pattern called to me in my time of need.

I used 2.5 meters of light weight beige spot cotton, 0.5 of the cream cotton used for the baby’s dress I made and 1.5 meters of mustard lining which I purchased from ebay a while back. The pattern does not call for a lining but the cotton was voile like in weight and I did not feel like having my particulars showing whilst standing in front of a light and I wanted that wonderful mustard underskirt to show. Above are my bobbins ready to go. I used contrast mustard top stitching on the wonderful yoke so had to practice my fingers to the bone to get it perfect. There were a few construction techniques that I have not used which this pattern called for such as adding 16 buttons and corresponding holes, the yoke with gathers and top stitching with a turn under hem. Of course as I have mentioned the pattern instructions were very clear and helpful so no need to panic if you are a beginner and reaching for this pattern. Do it. You will not be upset.

So I cut a size 6 which incorporated room for my lovely smaller boobs and hips but was about 4 inches to baggy on the back and 2 inches on the waist. I a 5’2” and have learned I am long waisted with a sway curved back. (basically my bum curves outwards  a lot) and most commercial patterns are to long in the body. I adjusted the back length on my master pattern (i never cut into a pattern but painstakingly copy it on pattern paper from McCullough and wallice) and lengthened the cap sleeves to a size 20 as I like my arms a little hidden, and made the top of the sleeve a size 0 as i did not want all that puffyness. I am naturally a exact hourglass shape so widening my shoulders makes me look broad. We want none of that! Other alternations meant taking in the waist about 1.5 inchs on the completes garment so could have cut a size smaller with hindsight but as you can always take in a bigger size that could have left me with issues. I went for the safe option and I think it was the best. As extras I added that lovely lining which was very simple to insert and used contrast thread for all those button holes.

There is my swinging curvey bum and small of my back. These caused me the most issues when altering the pattern but still not enough to cause me to much stress. I wore this dress to the local pub for these pics to be taken and got about a 1000 comments from all who witnessed me prancing about. Mostly to stop prancing…. but who could resist?

This picture is an attempt to show some of that wonderful yoke detailing but all it really does is how off my bloody big head. I feel like helena bonham carter in Tim Burtons shitty version of Alice in wonderland. Dam my cranium. Wish it had more than dust and fabric remnants inside of it.

So the answer to the big question of this pattern is should you buy it and should you sew it. YES YES YES! I am adapting this pattern as we speak so I can make a shirt/top version and will be making more of this brands patterns without question!

Here is my review from sewing.pattern review.com

More pictures and blog!

Pattern Description: Shirt dress with inset waist, slightly dropped and curved waistline, and curved neckline yoke. Gathers at the bust provide fullness, while the skirt is gathered at the front and generously flared. Sleeves are short and puffed. Closes with 16 buttons down the center front.

Pattern Sizing: American sizes 0-20, i made a size 6 on the skirt/bust/yoke, size 4 on the waist and size 0 on the back length/ cap sleeves but a size 20 in length to give my arms a little coverage

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Oh yes, and better. The best thing about this pattern is its versatility. You can make it in so many unique fabric combinations that the pattern picture just does not show you the ways you can have a unique dress. Check out colettes blog to see more!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Amazingly. Clear and concise without images that confuse or fuss. They even have a glossary in the little booklet the pattern comes in. Truly wonderful

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I loves its presentation, the way the pattern tissue fits back in to the sleeve when your done, the images in the pattern book…. they way the dress fits, how many choices you can make to ensure a lovely fit….I have not one complaint to make.

Fabric Used:2.5 meters of beige cotton voile for main dress/0.5 of cream cotton for the yoke bought from http://stores.ebay.co.uk/favouritefabrics and 1.5 of mustard poly lining a

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:Loads! Because you can without worry, not because i had to. I added a lining to the skirt as I wanted a visible petticoat and the fabric was quite thin. It was very easy to add because of the pictures being so clear. I used contrast fabric for the yoke as suggested in the pattern booklet and altered the size just to make it fit to my frame. Not much was needed.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I am sewing it right now! Im adapting the top half to make a shirt

Conclusion: I am buying all of colettes patterns as we speak

More pictures and blog!

18 Responses to “Collette ceylon No. 1009 finished! First new sewing room project.”

  1. Young Wifey July 20, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    Yay for the new sewing room! And the dress looks fantastic! I love the yellow hem & matching shoes!!!

    • elationcreations July 20, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

      I am in love with the sewing room….no more men messing up my patterns…. I am going to start holding a sewing meet in my sewing room for my friends who want to sew together. Thank you for commenting….and check back soon for the next project. I am making a top next :) Happy anniversary :)

  2. VeraVenus July 20, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    Wow!! you have made an outstanding dress!
    Looks like it fits perfectly and is gorgeous in your fabric choices.. I love how you used the two contrasting fabrics to emphasise the design. They ought to use your dress to advertise that pattern!
    Fab shoes there as well, keep on prancing :)

    • elationcreations July 20, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

      Thank you for lovely comments! I am in love with this pattern and dress. Are you considering making it? or maybe you already have….i would love to read about it on your blog (which I have subscribed to as you have some wonderful items yourself)

      As for those shoes, ebay second hand and cost £4. The dress was planned around them :) They are the very best for prancing! Keep in touch as I will post the top I am adapting from this pattern soon. Keep sewing xx

  3. Rachel July 20, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    That is absolutely GORGEOUS!!! I am so happy to have found your blog. I just ordered a Colette pattern yesterday.

    • elationcreations July 20, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

      Which pattern did you order? I am in love with their patterns! I am purchasing the new shirt and skirt they have brought out once I am paid…. they look so cute. Their blog has loads of wonderful ideas like pintucks ect which i want to try :) when you have made your purchase let me know as i would love to see it! Thanks for dropping by :)

  4. Handmade July 21, 2011 at 6:53 am #

    Lovely photos – that dress suits you to a TEE! Prancing in the pub – sounds great!

    • elationcreations July 21, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

      Thank you kindly for commenting- i am adding your blog to my ‘supplies’ page with a clickable link so others can enjoy reading it to :) lets get the crafty word out there :) xx

  5. erica louise July 29, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Your dress is utterly amazing, I love it

  6. Debi August 18, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    I am LOVING your Ceylon! The colours are fabulous and I love the contrast neckline! Thanks for stopping by my blog and I look forward to catching up with yours as well :)

    xoxoxoxo Debi

    • elationcreations August 18, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

      Thank you for the lovely comment! Its great to know I am not the only crazy sewer out there and you have inspired me with that lovely blue top of yours….i had never heard of that pattern make. Its made my day :) xx

  7. chicaandaluza August 28, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Looks fabulous – just came across your blog. And I adore you shoes!

  8. Sertyan July 25, 2012 at 2:34 am #

    Your Ceylon is really pretty! I love the white york and the mustard border on the skirt and your fit is very spot on. I made one too (you can see it in my blog)

    • elationcreations July 25, 2012 at 9:01 am #

      After reading your blog I doubt you need my help or advice on any sewing! Your items are lovely and extremely well made! I am adding your blog to my favorites page so I can keep an eye on your projects- and it seems you have made the new look pattern I have been umming and ahhring about. :) I will be making it now!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. John Lewis simplicity pattern sale!!!!! We are ALL special. « elationcreations - August 19, 2011

    [...] not. I do have a few shirt/dress patterns that could work. I am still making the adaptation of Collette ceylon dress into a cowboy type shirt so maybe I could breed the two patterns together…..watch this [...]

  2. Another finised project. Adapted colette ceylon with Cath Kidston yoke detail. « elationcreations - August 28, 2011

    [...] just loved my Ceylon dress so much that I took a leaf out of colette’s snippet emails and decided to make another. This [...]

  3. SEWING ROOM!!!! (and a new bedroom) « elationcreations - September 12, 2011

    [...] am now cutting Vintage simplicity 3558 on some beige spot fabric left over from my Colette ceylon. I am making view 3 without sleeves, with a pussy bow so I can wear it under jumpers with ease- and [...]

  4. Vintage Simplicity 3558 review…. « elationcreations - September 19, 2011

    [...] collars to be precise. In my sewing cabinet I found 1.3m of beige spot cotton I had used for the ceylon dress prewashed, ironed and ready to go. I am by nature lazy (I blame it on my French ancestry) so the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

